A God-given Encourager


I don’t know at what age it happens, but somewhere along
the line we stop giving spontaneous encouragement to one another. 
I have realized this lately because of our soon-to-be-four year old
son, Matthew.  In addition to repeating just about everything that
he hears us telling him, (like today, “Mommy, stay right there. Don’t
move. OK? I’ll be right back….Don’t touch anything, OK?), he is a great encourager.

For one, he is quick to say “Good job, Mommy!”  That feels so
good!  As one of the “bosses” here at the clinic, we’re the ones
who are to say,
“Good job!”   Mostly people come needing something from us. 
So, it is good to actually receive affirmation from time
to time.  Matthew reminds me of the importance of telling others,
“Good job!”

He also knows the value of a hug and a pat on the back.  For
example, the other day I pulled on the kitchen rag to wipe up a spill
and my session mug (now 22 yr old!) fell on the floor and broke.   Oh, my!  (does anyone have an extra “Servants of God” mug?)
I felt like crying and was on the floor searching for the pieces,
thinking maybe I could glue it back together.  Matthew had heard
the crash and came to the kitchen saying, “What happened, Mommy?” 
When I said that I had broken my favorite mug, he reached  up for
me to pick him up.  Instead of telling me it was only a mug or
asking why I had been so careless, he wrapped his arms around me,
patted me on the back and said, “I’m sorry, Mommy, that you broke your
mug!”  It was just what I needed to hear and his comfort helped me
get through the flood of emotions that were swirling around in my head
and heart.  Thanks, Sweetie!

Let’s try to give the gift of encouragement that others around us are
so badly needing today.  Just give it a try.  GOOD JOB!



Matthew (in the middle) with two of his school friends

7 responses to “

  1. God bless you and your ministry in Haiti.  I don’t know you but God does, and by reading your posts I’d say He is saying “Good job” to you during this time.   Maggie

  2. Oh Ok thanks  for telling me where it was. SO was that John and Debbie Swyers??? and Are you kin to the Swyers  gang??? How long have you been  in Haiti?
    Blessings;
    Debbie

  3. Our children give the best unconditional love! Too bad you aren’t a “Proclaimer of the Gospel” because I have several extra mugs… Blessings in Haiti. Dorothy

  4. I just search using Google images then cut and past the picture onto my site.  I love this entry, its nice to see Matthew is finally getting bigger!  Does he eat any betther than last year?

  5. Hi Violet, how are you, from your picture you look good. You only have one child. I soon in 2 1/2 months will be a grandma, I just can’t believe it. I am going to take your advice and encourage someone today, Have a great day, Lee Ann

Leave a Reply

