And a Child Shall Lead Them

With Matthew being our first (and only so far) child, I am learning so much.  I’ve never been in so much “full time” contact with a child before.  When he was a baby, we had to teach him so much, things that I thought were automatic things everyone did.  Like, when he started eating solid food, we had to teach him to take the food off of the spoon when we put it in his mouth.  We had to teach him to chew it instead of just moving it around in his mouth.  (For a long time he thought he should pull his mouth back from his teeth when I said, “Chew” since that is what I did to try to show him my teeth chewing the food.  It was so hilarious!)

Now, though, he is teaching me a thing or two.  We normally have our little devotional time together before I put him in bed each night.  This involves singing a prayer chorus (he is so cute singing “Teach me how to love Thee”), a prayer thanking God for all the things we did throughout the day and praying for our family and friends, and then at least three songs (the same three song every night) as he goes to sleep.

One night, it was late and we were both tired so I put him in bed without the normal routine.  He said, “But Mommy, we didn’t pray yet!”  So, out he came and we prayed together.  A reminder that we should never be too tired to pray.

Another night, I couldn’t remember the names of those who were sick so I just prayed, “Jesus, be with those who are sick.”  Matthew said, “But, who are they?  What’s their names? What’s wrong with them?”  It made me remember how important it is to be specific.

And, then yesterday, we were listening to one of the church meeting CD’s that we get from the US and the person on the CD was praying.  Matthew made me stop what I was doing and close my eyes and pray.

His first original prayer, on his own, was around Easter this year when we had been discussing the Easter events.  We had been singing the chorus that says,

“He came from Heaven to Earth, to show the way,
From the Earth to the cross, to my debts to pay,
From the cross to the grave, From the grave to the sky.  Lord, I lift your name on high”


 Then he prayed, “Dear Jesus, Thank you that Jesus died for us and that He isn’t dead anymore.  Amen!” 

Does it get any clearer than that?

6 responses to “

  1. My mom really did make that cake and it was all different kinds, chocolate, white, and my favorite, banana.  PS You can add pictures to your photoblog by going into your photo manager, clicking a picture, then click “include this photo in your photoblog”.  Then hit save changes and its there.  Simple pimple.  Its a new feature so that option hasn’t always been there.

  2. I love that! I know what you mean I learn so much from my Cherubs about true faith. No one wonder we’re suppose to become like children to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. He’s a blessing to me too!

  3. Then he prayed, “Dear Jesus, Thank you that Jesus died for us and that He isn’t dead anymore.  Amen!” 
    I love it—thanks for sharing the child lessons.  I always knew you’d make a great mom!  How about a little girl now? 

  4. WOW – blessed my heart so much reading your post!  I love how children teach us all!  Gla dyou liked those pictures – yes, the one is named vanity.  I used that because vanity and pride go hand in hand, Lucifer’s main problem was pride – we sang “Years I spent in vanity and pride…”  God is in the details!  Bless you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

