Rationale of a Four-year-old

The other day I was struggling to find space to sit down amid all the toys on the extra bed in Matthew’s room.  I said to him, “You know, there are children around here who don’t have any toys.  Santa will be coming in a couple of months.  Maybe we should give some of these away before then.”  Matthew answered, “No, Mom, we don’t have to.  Santa will give them some of his!”  That was quick thinking on his part!  I only wish I could have come up with a better response that a hearty laugh.

4 responses to “

  1. What a wonderful story.  I was laughing as I read it and I can’t wait until Nathan begins to talk and share his wisdom with us.
    Thanks again for your posting and encouragement.  Your ministry is a blessed reminder to not take the little things we enjoy stateside for granted.  May God continue to bless your ministry and outreach!

  2. Hi!  I’m A_Rays mom!  As you probably know she served in Haiti a few years ago on summer service corps.  I saw your site and thought I might as well take a peek!  How wonderful that you are ministering in a place that so needs you!  Your little guy is adorable and very smart!  (I have a 4 year old nephew and he can really come up with some doozies – never a dull moment is there?)  Take care and stop by my site when you have time.  God bless you!  Our thoughts and prayers are with you!

  3. Now that’s comedy! Your son has a future in stand-up. (And to answer your question — West Page closed and merged with Maplewood. The officers from WP came over to Mplwd, but then they left about 9 months later, then the corps had retired officers for three months, then us. So … a merge and three sets of officers in one year. Not really a good start. It’s going to be a long process!)

Leave a Reply

