Matthew Moment

The other night we were watching an episode of “Touched by an Angel” from the 3rd season that had Lou Gosset, Jr. in it.  Matthew said, “What does he have in his ear?”  I looked and said, “Oh, he has an earring.”  Matthew paused only a split second, and with his honest, straight forward four-yr-old wisdom, he said, “But he’s lost one!”  I laughed for about 3 minutes.    Its not easy explaining why a guy has on earrings, and only one at that.  Laughter is good medicine for the soul.

5 responses to “

  1. Yesterday in the car I was telling our kids that a friend of ours is going to have a baby. When Josiah asked what they were going to name it, I said they didn’t know yet if it was a boy or a girl. Then he said, “Oh yeah, you have to have one of those sound things to find out.” So, never content to just leave well enough alone, I had to add that even after an ultrasound sometimes they still can’t tell if it’s a boy or a girl. Then Emma throws in, “Well, yeah, they might not be able to see if it has hair or not!” I guess in her mind boy babies are always bald. (Which is funny because she was bald as a cue ball until she was about two.)

  2. Write those cute things down.  I hate how I’ve forgotten so many of them.  My favorite, though, was when we told Jared you were probably moving to a Spanish-speaking country because you speak Spanish and he said with awe, “She speaks Spanish? I can understand every word she says!”.  I laugh about that all the time….14 years later (or so)

  3. Yes, it’s a fase (sp) that kids goes thru. I didnt make a “big to do” over it when our one son did it and eventually he let it grow back. I figured as long as he is not into trouble; getting good grades and still going to church; why make a deal about an ear ring. And I was right; it eventually was no big deal. Kids are cute and notice all those things though Have a good week.
    Blessings;
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

