Easter in Haiti


Just thought I would post a couple of photos and thoughts.  In FDN the Army joined with several other churches to have a (REAL) Sunrise Open-Air at 5 AM in the market.  Since I’ve started playing in the band, I joined them.  It was refreshing to start off the day worshiping the risen Savior.  There was a good crowd of the church people and the occasional group of people waiting for public transportation benefited from the music and witness.  The timbrelists played a nice number accompanied by the band.  We had a march of witness back to our respective churches.  It has been a LONG time since I’ve had to march and play at the same time and I was definitely not ready for it.  It wasn’t uphill or anything but the road had lots of potholes to watch out for and I think the pace was a bit brisk.  As we passed the clinic, I  stepped out and headed back to the house to get ready for the rest of the day.

Sunrise Service Open-Air, FDN Market


Felix was scheduled to preach at a nearby corps and we were pleasantly surprised to see that the dirt/rock road had recently been graded, turning what has been a 30 min bouncy ride into a quick 10 min trip.  It was muddy and slippery in a couple of places but the 4-wheel drive truck (and Felix’s skillful driving) got us through with no problems.  We stayed afterwards for dinner and fellowship with the officers.  They have a 3 yr old son so Matthew had a great time playing with him.

Matthew and I made 60 of our traditional colored eggs on Saturday and took 40 over to Bethany Children’s Home.  We had a short devotional with the children before giving them their eggs.  We might make some more to give out to our TB patients on Monday. 

On Saturday we also had our DC/DDWO and a couple from the SA-USA-S over for lunch.  It was good to spend the time with them, especially since our DC/DDWO will be farewelling from Haiti in a month’s time to return to the USA-S and this might be their last time in our home.  They will be sorely missed!

I’ll finish with a video clip of Matthew, while he was waiting for me to get ready to take his picture with the eggs.  He sure is an energetic little boy! 

  

9 responses to “

  1. You can’t put a price on videos that cute!! Matthew is a doll! Thanks for your Easter wishes! Easter here was really nice as well. I was hoping for a Sunrise service but it wasn’t in the works. Apparently, the corps traditionally has a morning parade in the neighborhood but, given the high security measures being taken these days, that was ruled out as well. It’s so sad because it would have been such a beautiful testimonial to our MANY Buddhist, Hindu and Muslim neighbors, that we Christians have something more to celebrate on our holy days then simply remembering a mystical god. We have a LIVING God who is hearing our praises and gratitude fro what He has done for us and how He continues to offer new life to everyone today!A year simply wasn’t enough time to make a “cricket believer” out of me πŸ™‚ I would need a book, too, and would be right beside you, missing all of the actual exciting plays because my nose is in my book trying to remember what they will mean when they actually happen!Hoping things are going well for you!God Bless!Erin

  2. That’s really cool that you got through the whole Bible! Even if it takes 4 years, that’s great. My problem is that I think I’ll be able to do it within a year or two and when I fall behind schedule, I just give up instead of soldier on. πŸ˜› Well, no more of that. You’ve inspired me too. :)Your Easter looks so great! It makes me very excited…and Matthew is insanely adorable. I watched that video like three times. πŸ˜‰

  3. Your Easter sounds incredible.  Matthew is sooo cute.  RYC:  We attend the Waukegan corps right now because the Major at Tom Seay does not think it is a healthy place for Katelyn to attend.  If and when I move closer to the Tom Seay, she will go to a local corps.  The Major’s kids go to the Des Plaines corps.

  4. We buy the plastic eggs at Wal-mart along with the candy.  The teens fill the eggs the week of Easter and help hide them (something they really enjoy).  We count all the eggs before so we can roughly figure how many eggs each kid can get.  We confine the search area to a small patch of grass outside the building (for the older kids) and the playground for the little ones.
    Thanks for sharing the Easter festivities with us.  Great picture of Matthew.

  5. Sure enjoyed that video.  I watched it a few times too and got a kick out of the hyper-ness of Matthew.  I thought he should have been dizzy from going in circles.  It was only three times around but looked like a lot more.  He must keep you very young and very busy!  Thanks for sharing.

  6. Thanks for sharing! It’s always interesting to see how Easter is celebrated in other places. And Matthew… too cute!When do you come back to the States on furlough?

  7. Hi again…don’t know why that info was asked for on the form…but she was right, I should have known better – or at least should have asked – with all the HIPAA stuff these days.  Re: the check – you know  how it goes, something wasn’t communicated correctly or whatever…
    “Whiter than snow, yes, whiter than snow.  Now wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.”

Leave a Reply

