Major Milestone!
  

Friday
marked a major milestone for me, my birthday.  I would have liked to have taken the day off
but duty called. I did get up early, had my devotions in our roof top
garden, and,
after dropping Matthew off for school, met
up with a friend to go walking in the countryside for 30 minutes. 


Typical Haitian countryside in FDN

Mayotte cooked grilled beef, cheesy scalloped potatoes (amazing how
cheesy the package from the mac & cheese box can be) and salad.  We
put the cake together together (is that proper English? )
and Felix, Matthew and I had a family dinner together.  My brother
called and, after trying his French out on me, managed to sing “Happy
Birthday” to me before we got cut off .  Then, as I was trying
to blow out my candles, my parents called, sang “Happy Birthday” and
the line went dead again.  I guess they got the most important part
said.  Kind of hard to celebrate the way I would have liked with no
fancy restaurants, movie theaters or nice hotels around but what’s most
important anyway???  Health, Family and the Lord.  I am blessed with
all three.  PTL!

These are some SHORT clips (Felix thought he was taking pictures instead of videos).  I like the one with me on the phone listening to my mom singing while I’m trying to blow out the candles before they set the cake on fire!  LOL!

  

12 responses to “

  1. Happy birthday! I’m so glad you were able to spend such a wonderful time with your family, and that you were able to hear from your family, even if it was just for a few moments!

  2. Thank you so much for your prayers and comments! Dad was a great prayer warrior and we are so grateful for all of the prayer support we are getting!

  3. RYC: Just sounded like something Bob would do. I miss them – we were at Northbrook when they were, then they were off to Chicago and we left for San Francisco. I think I knew Rae had some Spanish skills

  4. Happy Brithday Late – I hope it was a great one! I’ll have to check ticket prices for that beach offer _ although I know it’d be worth every penny I spent _ I really miss the people of Haiti and their amazing Faith – maybe I need to vacation down there —I’ll let you know! Thanks for all your updates – it’s wonderful to be able to read about an area we spent time in while we were down! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

