A Heartfelt Thank You!
In our kind of work you get a lot of requests for a “ti service” or “ti aid” or “ti kob” and “mesi” seems to be a rare word, indeed.  So, what a heartwarming experience it was to open my e-mail tonight to find the following e-mail from Gerry, a young man from our corps here in Fond-des-Negres.  (Please note that English is his 3rd language, after French Creole and French.  He apologized for his English but I assured him that his English was a lot better than my French!)


Hi Major D.!

                            I feel so glad and at ease in writing you this letter to tell you something. About the money you have gave to me; to start my study university.

And thanking you.

                             Major, you represent a mother for me and a counsellor because you make many things for that my parents had to do for. I remember when i was in grade 2nd (Junior in High School) I could not find money you employed me) so I’m thankful.

You always advise me; about my life.  

I’ll send you the receipt copy as soon as I find an occasion or when I’ll come back to Fond-Des-Negres.

                            “Try to be at peace with every one and try to live a holy life, because no one will see the Lord without it”.


May God protect you! My plain: I would like you pray for me to get my licence (certificate) bye!                                                         

                                                          Gerry Stivens

We gave Gerry an after school job to when he was
struggling to find money to finish secondary (high) school.  He
finished very well and now we are looking for the money to get him
through four years of university.  He’s studying accounting/management
and the total cost is only US$1,500 per year.  I have one 4-year pledge
of $500 per year and am looking for other sponsors for the rest.  If anyone can help or knows someone who can help, let me know.  If you would like more information, send me a message and I’ll get back to you.


3 responses to “

  1. You are an amazing lady!  I’m glad you have been able to see some of the positive results of your ministry through Gerry.  I know the work must seem endless and the massive needs beyond your abilities on many days so I also want to say “thank you” for what you are doing for Jesus in that land so far away from all of us.  You sacrificial life is truly and example to all officers.
    Now–tell me truthfully, do you dream of bringing your dear husband/son to America for all the wonders, benefits and quality education we have here?  If you do, we need to be praying with you for these changes even if you are possibly dreaming of just a short period in the life of your family.
    Also–thanks for the excellent Christmas gift ideas! 

  2. I’m so glad that you are finding ways to help Gerry! He is such a nice young man and has been so dedicated! And it’s so good to see that he’s acknowledging the role you play in his life; I’m fully confident that you have that figure in more lives than you know, but it sure is nice to hear from someone who is honestly grateful for everything you do for him.Give Matthew my love! (What a cute picture of the two of them, even though Matthew’s missing his ear to ear irresistible smile, by the way.)

  3. That is just awesome!  What a blessing!  Praying that God provides a way!  Can’t think of anyone who deserves it more!

Leave a Reply

