Five days without internet service and then it started working again on Saturday.  45 new messages in the inbox and lots of xanga posts to read.  Was very tempting to fill the internet time with computer games but, by the grace of God, was able to keep my Lent pledge. 

Valentine’s Day Felix and I were the speakers at a nearby corps night revival meeting (during the week leading up to their Harvest ingathering).  We used the AIDS DVD that has a really good Christian message of temptation, sin, rejection, forgiveness and restoration with me giving a devotional before the film on our inability to rid ourselves of sin and the power of cleansing through the blood of Jesus (“What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus”).  It was well received.

Then, yesterday, Mayotte and I did the baking thing again…16 bags of Bonbon Katrines, 4 loaves of homemade bread and 5 banana cakes.  They all sold very well at the corps Harvest auction, which made me happy that we could contribute something for this corps’ fund raiser.  The Swiss officer who lives there and is usally a big help in getting things made/donated for the sale is out of the country at the moment so the soldiers were really concerned that things wouldn’t go well.  They had a good turn out and the bidding was brisk during the auction.

Well, got to try to find a good baked chicken recipe and get some budget projects done.  God’s blessings on you for the new week.

4 responses to “

  1. Thank you for the beautiful encouraging comment.  I hope you are doing well.  The driving is getting better.  Although I am still quite nervous on narrow streets with cars parked on both sides. 
    I pray that you are well.  May God bless and keep you.  SHALOM.

  2. I do wish that I could turn off the phone for an hour! Unfortunately, with our son’s surgery having just happened we needed to keep the phone on today so we could answer the calls coming from the doctor/surgeon/physical therapist about his upcoming appointments for the next two weeks. It was vital we answer those calls, so turning the phone off was NOT an option.Our first Corps appointment was very quiet program-wise, and I so wished I could be in a Corps full of program! Sigh. Now I know better than to ever pray for that again, because you definitely get what you pray for. This appointment has completely stripped me of energy!Tomorrow is another day. Perhaps it will be more peaceful….

  3. Hey, I love and miss you guys toooo! I find myself talking about Haiti more and more. I want to go back more than anything right now. Haiti definitely isn’t stable, but I fell in love with it anyway. 😉

Leave a Reply

