Rotary District 7020 Conference

Felix and I joined Rotary in October 2007, just after our club was started.  It has been a learning experience for us, since neither of us have been in a service club before.  So, every Friday afternoon (well, not EVERY, but we try) we take Matthew to Bethany, leave our “Major” and “Capt” behind and become Violet and Felix for an hour or so.  We have made some good friends and it’s nice to have this break away from clinic life.

Somehow, I got elected Secretary for this upcoming (July ’09 – June ’10) year.  One requirement is that you have to attend the training seminar for incoming leaders (PETS) which is part of the District Conference.  Our district covers the islands in the northern Leeward Islands and the non-Spanish speaking Greater Antillies. (For those of you who have no idea what this means: Jamaica, Haiti, the Bahamas, USVI, BVI, St. Maartin, Anguilla, Cayman Is., Turks & Caicos…).  One advantage is that the conference is held in some pretty neat places.  This year we were in St. Croix, US Virgin Islands.

From our club, 10 of us went, which was a wonderful accomplishment since it required getting US VISA’s, which are NOT easy to come by.  The PETS was an eye opener, learning that being secretary is a whole lot more than taking the minutes at the meetings.  The progress of the club is partially dependent on the effectiveness of the secretary, helping the president and the committee chairs communicate and carry out the annual plan.  I have heard it said that if you want something done, get a busy person to do it.  I’m not sure how true that is but I’m certainly a busy person…we should get LOTS done this year!!??

During the conference I met lots of interesting people, ate LOTS of good food, had several clubs approach us to offer to do projects with us, and got initiated into Rotary.  We had a night at the Government House, a night in local host families home and a cultural fun night on the pier.

I stayed with family of friends of ours from Jamaica/Antigua which was also a blessing.  They picked me up at the airport and helped me get to the meetings.  I met several Antiguans living in St. Croix, one who used to attend primary school in the building that was later converted into the Sunshine Home for Girls that I was in charge of for five years!  It sure is a small world!

I certainly have my work cut out for me this year and I hope that we will be able to get an award again next year like we did this year.  Here are a few photos of our time in St. Croix.  Please excuse the darkness of many of the shots.  My camera doesn’t have much of a flash and several of the events were at night.

Leave a Reply

